Annoying Tropes in Fantasy: A humorous perusal of overused tropes in my favourite genre.

Good gads yes! Drew says it like it is! Lol have fun. This is an amusing read.

The Tattooed Book Geek

annoyingftropesbanner

As a fantasy fan I occasionally come across over used or old tropes that I find annoying. Every genre of book has them, that tired old cliché that makes you shake your head and sigh whilst reading.

Well, I have created a humorous (well, I think it is) list of my fifteen most annoying fantasy tropes:

ftnew1

ft2new

ft3

So there you have it, a good-natured and fun look at annoying tropes in fantasy. There’s two tropes and clichés that I didn’t mention, my list, my rules and they are Animal Companions and Weapon Naming and that’s because animal companions are awesome and well, weapon naming is cool to, if I was a fantasy character – anti-hero obviously! Then I’d have myself an animal companion and a named weapon to. 🙂

Out of the list my most annoying fantasy trope is Number 8: Magic. I’m a big fan of magic but sometimes less…

View original post 130 more words

This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annoying Tropes in Fantasy: A humorous perusal of overused tropes in my favourite genre.

  1. bookheathen says:

    That’s the stuff of all good fantasy, Karen, but I especially love the idea of a chorus of Justin Biebers hovering over the Albert Hall and singing ‘Puff the Magic Dragon. Scary!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

